Parallel Heterogeneous Energy efficient Real-time Multiprocessor Architecture
Parallel Heterogeneous Energy efficient Real-time Multiprocessor Architecture

Publications

SympA 2008 - Site web
S. Bilavarn, T. Dupont, N. Mounir, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, A-M. Fouilliart
Une Analyse de Performances et de Consommation du Décodage H.264 sur ARM MPCore
SYMPosium en Architectures nouvelles de machines, SympA'2008, Friboug, Switzerland, 11/02/08-13/02/08

Abstract : Emerging trends in applications with the requirement of considerable computational performance and decreasing timeto- market have urged the need of multiprocessor systems. With the increase in number of processors there is an increased demand to efficiently control the energy and power budget of such embedded systems as well. Power management in embedded computing systems is achieved by actively changing the power consumption profile of the system by putting its components into such power/energy states which are sufficient to meet functionality requirements. Dynamic Power Management (DPM) strategies attempt to make decisions related to the choice of such states based on the available information at runtime. These strategies exploit the inherently present idleness (if any) in the application's behavior which is a priori unknown or non-stationary. This paper presents a novel DPM strategy called Assertive Dynamic Power Management (AsDPM) for real time applications. It is based on the idle time extraction from application's behavior and clustering to make appropriate decision for state-transition of processors in a multiprocessor real time system. Experimental results show that conventional DPM approaches often yield suboptimal, if not incorrect, performance in the presence of real time constraints whereas, the AsDPM strategy gives better energy consumption performance under the same constraints by 10.40%. Also, it reduces the number of state transitions by 74.85% and 59.76% for EDF and LLF scheduling policies respectively.
DSD 2008 - Site web
S. Bilavarn, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, T. Dupont, A-M. Fouilliart
Multicore Implementation of H.264 Decoder with Power Management Considerations
11th Euromicro Conference on Digital System Design, DSD 2008, Parma, Italy, 03/09/08-05/09/08

Abstract : The intent of the recent H.264/AVC standard is to provide high quality video at low bit-rates and work effectively on a wide variety of networks and systems. A promising application is video broadcasting on mobile terminals but in practice, increased processing power and power management are required for embedded systems. In this paper, we consider an embedded multiprocessor to answer these requirements. This platform is the ARM11 MPCore, including up to four processors to bring enough processing power with dynamic voltage and frequency scaling techniques (DVFS). We present here the parallelisation and implementation analysis of a H.264 decoder using symmetric multiprocessing. We detail the performance and power consumption of the decoder in different conditions of voltage and frequency in a way to derive information for the exploitation of DVFS techniques in multiprocessor architectures.
VLSI-SOC 2008 - Site web
M.K. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
Improving resource utilization under EDF-based mixed scheduling in multiprocessor real-time systems
16th IFIP/IEEE Int. Conf. on Very Large Scale Integration, VLSI-SOC'2008, Rhodes Island, Greece, 13/10/08-15/10/08

Abstract : The predominant approach of scheduling multiprocessor hard-real-time systems has been partitioned, in which each task is assigned statically (more or less) to one processor. Partitioned scheduling has the virtue of permitting schedulability to be verified using well-established monoprocessor schedulability analysis techniques for independent tasks. However, partitioned scheduling approach causes considerable under-utilization of the Multiprocessor System-on- Chip (MPSoC) platform resource. Alternative to partitioned scheduling is the global scheduling which permits the exploitation of platform capacity more efficiently by migrating tasks during their execution. This paper presents an approach for scheduling periodic real-time independent tasks and it's based on the idea of exploiting the under-utilization of MPSoC platform in a postpartitioned scenario by placing a global scheduler on top of all local schedulers of individual processors. This approach benefits from the theoretical basis available for partitioned scheduling approach and some of the advantages of having a global view of the total platform resource.
RTNS 2008 - Site web
D. Aoun, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
Pfair scheduling improvement to reduce interprocessor migrations
16th Int. Conf. on Real-Time and Network Systems, RTNS'08, Rennes, France, 16/10/08-17/10/08

Abstract : Proportionate-fair (Pfair) scheduling is a particulary promising global scheduling technique for multiprocessor systems. Actually three Pfair scheduling algorithms have been proved optimal for scheduling periodic, sporadic and rate-based tasks on a real-time multiprocessor. However, task migration is unrestricted under Pfair scheduling. In the worst case, a task may be migrated each time it is scheduled. To correct this problem, we propose to complement initial Pfair scheduling algorithm by some heuristics that strive to minimize the total number of migrations. Experimental simulations are presented to evaluate and compare the proposed heuristics and we show that the number of migrations can be substantially reduced by adding these simple rules.
FTFC 2009 - Site web
K. Ben Chehida, R. David, F. Thabet, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet, R. Urunuela, M.K. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, F. Broekaert, V. Seignole, A.M. Fouillart
Une approche globale de gestion de la consommation au niveau système pour des architectures MPSoC temps réel hétérogènes
8èmes Journées Faible Tension Faible Consommation, FTFC 2009, Neuchâtel, Suisse, 03/06/09-05/06/09

Abstract : The paper presents the assumptions together with the methodology that drive the Pherma project so as to be able to propose efficient electrical energy management techniques for heterogeneous multiprocessor architectures under real-time constraints. The electrical consumption optimization approach relies on a predictable architecture and a scheduling strategy that uses the execution resources efficiently. It combines an off-line method with an in-line one. Once its validation step achieved, it will be implemented inside an electrical energy management service inside the centralized control system.
Patmos 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, O. Mbarek
"Assertive dynamic power management (AsDPM) strategy for globally scheduled real-time multiprocessor systems"
19th Int. Workshop on Power and Timing Modeling, Optimization and Simulation on Digital System Design, PATMOS 2009, Delft, The Nederlands, 09/09/09-11/09/09

Abstract : Emerging trends in applications with the requirement of considerable computational performance and decreasing time-to-market have urged the need of multiprocessor systems. With the increase in number of processors, there is an increased demand to efficiently control the energy and power budget of such embedded systems. Dynamic Power Management (DPM) strategies attempt to control this budget by actively changing the power consumption profile of the system. This paper presents a novel DPM strategy for real time applications. It is based on the extraction of inherently present idleness in application's behavior to make appropriate decisions for state-transition of processors in a multiprocessor system. Experimental results show that conventional DPM approaches often yield suboptimal, if not incorrect, performance in the presence of real time constraints. Our strategy gives better energy consumption performance under the same constraints by 10.40%. Also, it reduces the number of overall state transitions by 74.85% and 59.76% for EDF and LLF scheduling policies respectively.
Sympa 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"Controlling energy profile of real-time multiprocessor systems by anticipating workload at runtime"
SYMPosium en Architectures nouvelles de machines, Sympa 2009, Toulouse, France, 09/09/09-11/09/09

Abstract : Over the past several years, power/energy consciousness has emerged as an important criterion in the design of many real time embedded systems. Energy conservation in such systems is achieved by actively changing the power consumption profile of their components using energy-efficient scheduling algorithms. In this context, Dynamic Power Management (DPM) is a well-studied and experimented policy to reduce power/energy consumption by selectively putting idle components in energy-efficient states. The quality of these policies depends on the knowledge of target application's behavior, which in many cases is unknown a priori. Moreover, with the increase in number of processors there is an increased demand to efficiently control the energy and power budget of such embedded systems as well. This paper presents a novel DPM strategy called Assertive Dynamic Power Management (AsDPM) for real time applications. It is based on the idle time extraction from application's behavior and clustering to make appropriate decision for state-transition of processors in a multiprocessor real time system. Experimental results show that conventional DPM approaches often yield suboptimal, if not incorrect, performance in the presence of real time constraints whereas, the AsDPM strategy gives better energy consumption performance under the same constraints by 10.40%. Also, it reduces the number of state transitions by 74.85% and 59.76% for EDF and LLF scheduling policies respectively.
SAME 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"A dynamic power management strategy for globally scheduled real-time multiprocessor systmes"
Sophia Antipolis MicroElectronics, SAME 2009, Sophia Antipolis, France, 22/09/09-23/09/09

Abstract : Power management in embedded computing systems is achieved by actively changing the power consumption profile of the system by putting its components into such power/energy states which are sufficient to meet functionality requirements. Dynamic Power Management (DPM) strategies attempt to make decisions related to the choice of such states based on the available information at runtime. DPM strategies exploit the inherently present idleness (if any) in the application's behavior which is a priori unknown or non-stationary. This paper presents a novel DPM strategy called Assertive Dynamic Power Management (AsDPM) for real time applications. It is based on the idle time clustering and clairvoyance to make appropriate decision for state-switch of a MP-System component.
ICECS 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"A framework for offline optimization of enregy consumption in real-time multiprocessor system-on-chip"
IEEE Int. Conference on Electronics, Circuits and Systems, ICECS 2009, Tunisia, 11/12/09-13/12/09

Abstract : Emerging trends in applications with the requirement of considerable computational capacity and decreasing time-to-market have urged the need of multiprocessor systems. With the advent of multiprocessor systems, there is an increased demand to efficiently control their energy and power budget. As the technology scales to increasingly smaller feature sizes, the static power consumption is expected to grow exponentially which will also contribute a significant part in system's total power consumption. Moreover, modern-day applications are complex and offer limited extractable parallelism which eventually leads to poor performance by existing energy optimization techniques. In this paper, we present a two-fold framework for energy optimization. In the first step, we provide an algorithm, called MPSched (Minimum Processors for Schedulability), to optimize on the number of processors needed to fulfill execution requirement of target application. In the second step, we perform Static Voltage and Frequency Scaling (SVFS) to achieve an optimal energy profile of the system.
EUROSIM 2010 - Site web
R. Urunuela, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
"Simulation for multiprocessor real-time scheduling evaluation"
I7th EUROSIM Congress on Modelling and Simulation, Prague, Czech Republic, 06/09/10-10/09/10

Abstract : The increasing complexity of the hardware multiprocessor architectures as well as of the real-time applications they support makes very difficult even impossible to apply the theoretical real-time multiprocessor scheduling results currently available. Thus, so as to be able to evaluate and compare real-time multiprocessor scheduling strategies on their schedulability performance as well as energy efficiency, we have preferred a simulation approach and are developing an open and flexible multiprocessor scheduling simulation and evaluation platform called STORM ("Simulation TOol for Real-time Multiprocessor scheduling"). This paper presents the simulator on which STORM relies and that is able to simulate accurately the behaviour of those (hardware and software) elements that act upon the performances of such systems. An example is given to illustrate such a performance evaluation.
ETFA 2010 - Site web
R. Urunuela, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
"STORM - A simulation tool for real-time multiprocessor scheduling evaluation"
15th IEEE International Conference on Emerging Technologies and Factory Automation, Bilbao, Spain, 13/09/10-16/09/10

Abstract : The increasing complexity of the hardware multiprocessor architectures as well as of the real-time applications they support makes very difficult even impossible to apply the theoretical real-time multiprocessor scheduling results currently available. Thus, so as to be able to evaluate and compare real-time multiprocessor scheduling strategies on their schedulability performance as well as energy efficiency, we have preferred a simulation approach and are developing an open and flexible multiprocessor scheduling simulation and evaluation platform called STORM ("Simulation TOol for Real-time Multiprocessor scheduling"). After an overview of the related available software simulation tools together with the motivations of our work, this paper presents the simulator on which STORM relies and that is able to simulate accurately the behaviour of those (hardware and software) elements that act upon the performances of a multiprocessor system. At first, the presentation is made from the user point of view: input data, graphical user interface with its commands, output results. Then the functional architecture of the simulator is explained: simulation kernel, simulation (hardware, software and system) entities, behaviour and interactions between these kernel and entities. An example (inspired of a H264 image decoder) is given to illustrate the capabilities of our tool.
DASIP 2010 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"An inter-task real-time DVFS scheme for multiprocessor embedded systems"
2010 Conference on Design and Architectures for Signal and Image Processing, DASIP 2010, Edinburgh, United Kingdom, 26/10/10-28/10/10

Abstract : In this paper, we have addressed energy-efficient scheduling of real time applications intended to be executed on multiprocessor systems. Our proposed technique, called Deterministic Stretch-to-Fit (DSF) technique, is based on inter-task real time dynamic voltage and frequency scaling (RT-DVFS). It mainly comprises of three components. Firstly, we propose an online algorithm to reclaim energy by adapting to the variations in actual workload of target application tasks. Secondly, we extend our online algorithm with an adaptive and speculative speed adjustment mechanism. This mechanism anticipates early completion of future task instances based on the information of their average workload. Thirdly, we propose a one-task extension technique for multi-task multiprocessor systems. No real time constraints of target application are violated while applying our proposed technique. Simulation results show that our online slack reclamation algorithm alone gives up to 53% gains on energy consumption and our extended speculative speed adjustment mechanism, along with the one-task extension technique, gives additional gains, reaching a theoretical low-bound on the scalable frequency and voltage.
TSI 2010
S. Bilavarn, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, T. Dupont, A.M. Fouillart
"Implantation d'un décodeur H.264 sur plateforme multiprocesseur avec gestion énergétique"
Technique et Science Informatiques Volume 29/2 - 2010 - pp.201-224

Abstract : Embedded systems have moved recently towards multiprocessor architectures to support the level of performance required by new mobile applications. For those systems, power is a sensitive aspect that points to the need for study and developement of efficient power management strategies. This paper presents a concrete case study in one of the primarily concerned application domain: multimedia and video broadcasting. It reports the implementation details of a H.264/AVC decoder on a multiprocessor platform (ARM11 MPCore EB) considering in particular the problem of power reduction using online and offline techniques of power management (DVFS, DPM).

Parallel Heterogeneous Energy efficient Real-time Multiprocessor Architecture
Parallel Heterogeneous Energy efficient Real-time Multiprocessor Architecture

Publications

Sympa 2008 - Site web
S. Bilavarn, T. Dupont, N. Mounir, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, A-M. Fouilliart
"Une Analyse de Performances et de Consommation du Décodage H.264 sur ARM MPCore"
SYMPosium en Architectures nouvelles de machines, SympA'2008, Friboug, Suisse, 11/02/08-13/02/08

Résumé : les objectifs du standard vidéo H.264/AVC sont d'apporter une meilleure qualité de codage à faible débit sur une gamme étendue de systèmes et de réseaux. Une application prometteuse est la distribution de contenu vidéo sur des terminaux mobiles. Dans ce cas, une capacité de traitement accrue et des stratégies de gestion énergétique sont nécessaires pour permettre l'implantation du décodeur sur une architecture embarquée. Cet article considère une solution multiprocesseur embarqué pour répondre à ces contraintes. La plateforme d'exécution est le MPCore de ARM qui inclue jusqu'à quatre processeurs pour délivrer la capacité de traitement nécessaire ainsi que des techniques d'adaptation de tension et de fréquence en ligne (DVFS). L'article décrit la parallélisation du décodeur sur cette plate-forme en considérant un fonctionnement en mode SMP. Nous présentons également une analyse détaillée des performances et de la consommation du décodeur pour différentes configurations. L'analyse des résultats fournit des informations utiles pour l'exploitation de techniques DVFS (Dynamic Voltage and Frequency Scaling) dans les architectures multiprocesseur.
DSD 2008 - Site web
S. Bilavarn, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, T. Dupont, A-M. Fouilliart
"Multicore Implementation of H.264 Decoder with Power Management Considerations"
11th Euromicro Conference on Digital System Design, DSD 2008, Parma, Italy, 03/09/08-05/09/08

Résumé : une application prometteuse du récent standard vidéo H.264 est de permettre la distribution de contenu vidéo vers des nouvelle générations d'équipements portables (téléphones, PDA). En pratique, la complexité du standard nécessite une capacité de calcul très importante associée à une forte optimisation de la consommation pour pouvoir être mises en oeuvre dans de tels systèmes compacts et alimentés sur batteries. Cet article présente une étude de ces aspects en considérant une architecture multiprocesseur concrète: le ARM11 MPCore. Il présente les différents choix d'implantation d'un décodeur H.264 sur cette plateforme et analyse en détail les performances et la consommation de l'application avec les opportunités de gestion énergétique disponibles (DVFS).
VLSI-SOC 2008 - Site web
M.K. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"Improving resource utilization under EDF-based mixed scheduling in multiprocessor real-time systems"
16th IFIP/IEEE Int. Conf. on Very Large Scale Integration, VLSI-SOC'2008, Rhodes, Grèce, 13/10/08-15/10/08

Résumé : le partitionnement qui consiste à affecter (plus ou moins) statiquement chaque tâche à un processeur, constitue une approche majeure en matière d'ordonnancement multiprocesseur de tâches temps réel. Il offre en effet l'avantage de permettre la réutilisation des techniques bien connues d'analyse d'ordonnançabilité en contexte monoprocesseur pour des tâches indépendantes. Cependant, le partitionnement conduit à une sous-utilisation considérable des processeurs de la plate-forme MPSoC (" Multiprocessor System-on-Chip "). Une stratégie alternative est offerte par l'ordonnancement global qui, en faisant migrer les tâches durant leur exécution, permet une meilleure exploitation des ressources d'exécution. Cet article présente une approche pour l'ordonnancement de tâches temps réel périodiques et indépendantes qui vise à exploiter la sous-utilisation de la plate-forme MPSoC après partitionnement par introduction d'un ordonnanceur global placé au-dessus des ordonnanceurs locaux de chacun des processeurs. Cette approche tire alors profit à la fois des bases théoriques d'analyse connues pour le partitionnement et des avantages liés à la vue globale des ressources de la plate-forme matérielle entière.
RTNS 2008 - Site web
D. Aoun, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
"Pfair scheduling improvement to reduce interprocessor migrations"
16th Int. Conf. on Real-Time and Network Systems, RTNS'08, Rennes, France, 16/10/08-17/10/08

Résumé : l'ordonnancement Pfair (" Proportionate-fair ") est une stratégie prometteuse pour l'ordonnancement global des systèmes multiprocesseurs. En effet trois algorithmes Pfair ont été démontrés optimaux pour l'ordonnancement de tâches temps réel périodiques, sporadiques voire " rate-based ". Toutefois, sous de telles politiques d'ordonnancement, la migration des tâches est possible et peut s'avérer importante. Dans le pire cas, une tâche peut en effet migrer à chacun de ses réveils. Pour pallier ce problème, nous proposons de compléter l'algorithme d'ordonnancement Pfair initial par des heuristiques visant à minimiser le nombre total de migrations. Des simulations expérimentales sont présentées à des fins d'évaluation et de comparaison des heuristiques présentées. Elles montrent que le nombre de migrations peut être significativement réduit par l'ajout de ces simples règles.
FTFC 2009 - Site web
K. Ben Chehida, R. David, F. Thabet, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet, R. Urunuela, M.K. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, F. Broekaert, V. Seignole, A.M. Fouillart
"Une approche globale de gestion de la consommation au niveau système pour des architectures MPSoC temps réel hétérogènes"
8èmes Journées Faible Tension Faible Consommation, FTFC 2009, Neuchâtel, Suisse, 03/06/09-05/06/09

Résumé : ce papier présente les hypothèses ainsi que la méthodologie suivies dans le cadre du projet Pherma pour arriver à proposer des techniques efficaces d'optimisation de la consommation au niveau système sous contraintes de temps ciblant des architectures multiprocesseurs hétérogènes. L'approche d'optimisation de la consommation se base sur une architecture prédictible ainsi qu'une politique d'ordonnancement exploitant efficacement les ressources. Cette approche combine une méthode hors ligne avec une méthode enligne et a atteint la phase de validation en vue de son implémentation au sein d'un service de gestion de la consommation du contrôleur centralisé.
Patmos 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, O. Mbarek
"Assertive dynamic power management (AsDPM) strategy for globally scheduled real-time multiprocessor systems"
19th Int. Workshop on Power and Timing Modeling, Optimization and Simulation on Digital System Design, PATMOS 2009, Delft, Pays-Bas, 09/09/09-11/09/09

Résumé : les applications actuelles induisent des besoins de calculs de plus en plus importants nécessitant un nombre croissant de processeurs pour les implémenter. Ainsi la pression pour une gestion efficace de l'énergie et du budget puissance augmente pour de tels systèmes embarqués. Les stratégies de Dynamic Power Management (DPM) essaient de contrôler ce budget en adaptant le profil d'exécution du système. Cet article présente une nouvelle stratégie de DPM pour des applications temps réel. Elle consiste à extraire les périodes d'inactivité présentes dans le comportement de l'application pour déduire les états d'énergie des processeurs dans une architecture multiprocesseur. Les résultats expérimentaux montrent que les approches classiques de DPM conduisent souvent à des performances sous-optimales suivant les mêmes contraintes d'un facteur de 10,4%. De même notre approche permet de réduire le nombre de transitions d'état de 74.85% à 59.76% pour les ordonnancements EDF et LLF respectivement.
Sympa 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, F. Muhammad, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"Controlling energy profile of real-time multiprocessor systems by anticipating workload at runtime"
SYMPosium en Architectures nouvelles de machines, Sympa 2009, Toulouse, France, 09/09/09-11/09/09

Résumé : depuis plusieurs années, la prise en compte de l'énergie et de la puissance est devenu un facteur important dans la conception de nombreux systèmes embarqués temps réel. La gestion de l'énergie dans ces systèmes est effectuée par l'algorithme d'ordonnancement qui modifie dynamiquement le profil de consommation des composants du système. La technique DPM (Dynamic Power Management) est bien adaptée pour réduire la puissance et l'énergie en mettant de façon judicieuse les composants non utilisés dans un mode basse énergie. L'efficacité de ce type de technique dépend de la connaissance des comportements de l'application qui sont a priori souvent inconnus. Par ailleurs, avec l'augmentation du nombre de processeurs embarqués dans un système, il est important de contrôler efficacement la consommation d'énergie et la puissance dissipée. Cet article présente une nouvelle technique de DPM appelée Assertive Dynamic Power Management (AsDPM) pour des applications temps réel. Cette technique est basée sur l'utilisation des temps d'inactivité des processeurs par l'application qui sont agrégés pour permettre de placer en mode basse énergie un ou plusieurs processeurs. Les résultats expérimentaux montrent que les approches classiques de DPM conduisent souvent à des performances sous-optimales alors qu'AsDPM a de meilleures performances (10.40%) en optimisation de l'énergie suivant les mêmes contraintes applicatives. De même AsDPM permet de réduire le nombre de transitions d'état de 74.85% à 59.76% pour les ordonnancements EDF et LLF respectivement.
SAME 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"A dynamic power management strategy for globally scheduled real-time multiprocessor systems"
Sophia Antipolis MicroElectronics, SAME 2009, Sophia Antipolis, France, 22/09/09-23/09/09

Résumé : la gestion de la puissance consommée dans les systèmes embarqués est réalisée en changeant dynamiquement les profils de consommation du système en plaçant les composants dans des états d'énergie et de puissance adaptés par rapport aux besoins applicatifs. Les techniques de type DPM (Dynamic Power Management) visent à prendre les bonnes decisions sur la base des informations disponibles pendant l'exécution. Elles exploitent les temps d'inactivité des processeurs d'une architecture multiprocesseur, sachant que la répartition de ces temps est inconnue a priori et non-stationaire. Cet article présente une nouvelle technique nommée AsDPM (Assertive Dynamic Power Management) adaptée aux applications temps réel. Elle est basée sur l'agrégation des temps d'inactivité des processeurs et sur la notion de clairvoyance pour leur appliquer les changements d'états d'énergie.
ICECS 2009 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"A framework for offline optimization of enregy consumption in real-time multiprocessor system-on-chip"
IEEE Int. Conference on Electronics, Circuits and Systems, ICECS 2009, Tunisie, 11/12/09-13/12/09

Résumé : les évolutions des applications vers des besoins de calculs de plus en plus importants et des temps de mise sur le marché de plus en plus courts ont pour impact de rendre plus attractif des architectures de type multiprocesseur. Avec ces architectures il est nécessaires de contrôler efficacement leur consommation en énergie et puissance. Avec la réduction de la taille des transistors dans les technologies récentes la puissance statique augmente de façon exponentielle ce qui contribue de façon significative à la consommation globale du système. Ceci peut conduire à de faibles performances des techniques classiques d'optimisation de la consommation d'énergie. Dans cet article nous présentons une approche double pour l'optimisation de l'énergie. La première concerne un algorithme ( MPSched : Minimum Processors for Schedulability) d'optimisation du nombre de processeurs nécessaires à l'exécution de l'application suivant ses contraintes temporelles. La deuxième détermine de manière statique les tensions et fréquences pour obtenir un profil d'énergie optimal du système.
EUROSIM 2010 - Site web
R. Urunuela, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
"Simulation for multiprocessor real-time scheduling evaluation"
7th EUROSIM Congress on Modelling and Simulation, Prague, République Tchèque, 06/09/10-10/09/10

Résumé : face à la complexité croissante des architectures matérielles multiprocesseur comme des applications qu'elles supportent, il est très difficile voire impossible d'appliquer les résultats théoriques actuellement disponibles en matière d'ordonnancement temps réel. Aussi, afin d'évaluer et comparer des stratégies d'ordonnancement multiprocesseur du point de vue de leurs performances mais aussi de leur efficacité énergétique, nous avons privilégié une approche par simulation et conduisons actuellement le développement d'une plateforme logicielle ouverte et flexible pour la simulation et l'évaluation de telles stratégies. STORM (pour " Simulation TOol for Real-time Multiprocessor scheduling ") est le nom donné à cette plateforme. Cet article présente le simulateur, composant majeur sur lequel STORM repose et qui est capable de simuler fidèlement le comportement des éléments (matériels et logiciels) qui influencent les performances du système multiprocesseur. Un exemple est donné en guise d'illustration des capacités de cet outil.
ETFA 2010 - Site web
R. Urunuela, A.M. Déplanche, Y. Trinquet
"STORM - A simulation tool for real-time multiprocessor scheduling evaluation"
15th IEEE International Conference on Emerging Technologies and Factory Automation, Bilbao, Espagne, 13/09/10-16/09/10

Résumé : face à la complexité croissante des architectures matérielles multiprocesseur comme des applications qu'elles supportent, il est très difficile voire impossible d'appliquer les résultats théoriques actuellement disponibles en matière d'ordonnancement temps réel. Aussi, afin d'évaluer et comparer des stratégies d'ordonnancement multiprocesseur du point de vue de leurs performances mais aussi de leur efficacité énergétique, nous avons privilégié une approche par simulation et conduisons actuellement le développement d'une plateforme logicielle ouverte et flexible pour la simulation et l'évaluation de telles stratégies. STORM (pour " Simulation TOol for Real-time Multiprocessor scheduling ") est le nom donné à cette plateforme. Après un rapide aperçu des outils de simulation disponibles en la matière et des motivations de notre travail, cet article présente le simulateur, composant majeur sur lequel STORM repose et qui est capable de simuler fidèlement le comportement des éléments (matériels et logiciels) qui influencent les performances du système multiprocesseur. Dans un premier temps, la présentation est orientée utilisateur : données d'entrée, interface homme-machine et commandes, résultats en sortie. Puis, l'architecture fonctionnelle du simulateur est expliquée : noyau de simulation, entités (matérielles, logicielles, système) de simulation, comportement et interactions de ces noyau et entités. Un exemple (inspiré d'une application de décodage vidéo H264) est donné en guise d'illustration des capacités de cet outil.
DASIP 2010 - Site web
M. Bhatti, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin
"An inter-task real-time DVFS scheme for multiprocessor embedded systems"
2010 Conference on Design and Architectures for Signal and Image Processing, DASIP 2010, Edinburgh, Royaume-Uni, 26/10/10-28/10/10

Résumé : dans cet article nous considérons un algorithme d'ordonnancement efficace en énergie pour des applications temps réelles exécutées sur un système multiprocesseur. Notre technique Deterministic Stretch-to-Fit (DSF) est basée sur le changement dynamique et temps réel en tension et en fréquence effectué entre l'exécution de tâches successives (RT-DVFS). La technique DSF se décompose en trois entités. La première concerne un algorithme de récupération d'énergie en-ligne qui s'adapte aux variations de la charge de travail des tâches de l'application. La deuxième étend cet algorithme avec un mécanisme adaptatif et spéculatif d'ajustement de la vitesse de calcul. Ce m écanisme permet d'anticiper la fin d'exécution anticipée des futures tâches sur la base de leur charge de travail moyenne. La troisième entité est une extension d'une technique adaptée aux cas monotâche pour le des systèmes multiprocesseurs et multi-tâches. Toutes les contraintes de temps de l'application sont respectées avec notre technique. Les résultats de simulation montrent que la seule technique de récupération d'énergie donne des gains allant jusqu'à 53% sur l'énergie consommée et l'ajustement spéculatif de la vitesse associé avec l'extension au cas monotâche produit des gains supplémentaires permettant d'approcher la borne théorique inférieure de la fréquence et de la tension.
TSI 2010
S. Bilavarn, C. Belleudy, M. Auguin, T. Dupont, A.M. Fouillart
"Implantation d'un décodeur H.264 sur plateforme multiprocesseur avec gestion énergétique"
Technique et Science Informatiques Volume 29/2 - 2010 - pp.201-224

Résumé : les systèmes embarqués évoluent vers des architectures multiprocesseurs pour mieux répondre aux besoins en performances des nouvelles applications mobiles. Pour ces systèmes, l'optimisation de la consommation est aussi un critère délicat qui nécessite l'étude et le développement de stratégies de gestion énergétique efficaces. Cet article propose une étude de cas concrète dans un domaine d'application particulièrement concerné, celui du multimédia et de la distribution vidéo. Il présente les détails du développement d'un décodeur H.264/AVC sur une carte multiprocesseur pour l'embarqué (ARM11 MPCore EB) en considérant particulièrement les contraintes de réduction de la consommation par des techniques de gestion énergétique en ligne/hors ligne (DVFS, DPM).